Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek

Main building - Rectorate of Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek
The history of higher education in eastern Croatia started in 1707 with the establishment of Studium Philosophicum Essekini, the first higher education institution. The University of Osijek was established in 1975, and since 1990 it carries the name of Josip Juraj Strossmayer, Osijek’s well-known bishop, educator, philanthropist, humanist, founder of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts, politician, visionary and one of the most influential persons in our region at the turn of the 19th to 20th century. Nowadays, the University plays a significant role in the development of eastern Croatia. Within its 121 study programmes, the University educates young people, future scientists, experts and artists who will be ready to solve community issues and to contribute to economic, social, cultural, technological and infrastructural development of the region.

At present, there is a total of 17,000 students currently studying at Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek.

Dies Academicus is celebrated on 31 May.

University Constituents